Yamaha YXZ Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Complete newb question, but what do you guys recommend as far as helmets. I am from Florida so trail riding mostly. Any recommendation on where to buy as well.
Thanks
Dan

·
Premium Member
503 Posts
Helmet choices are pretty varied. Some like to wear a regular motocross helmet, some like to wear a full face race helmet, and then Fly makes a pretty cool hybrid that is a motocross helmet with a full shield that you can use, or you can keep the shield up and use goggles. There are also open face helmets that provide minimum protection, and some like to run those as well. I personally prefer the Fly hybrid helmet or my full face race helmet. I don't like dirt and sand in my teeth - lol!

As far as where to buy, you should probably go to a dealer or shop that has them in stock and try them on to be sure you get the right size. Sizes can vary A LOT per brand......and you will want your helmet to be comfortable and fit you right. Even if you just try on helmets and find one you like, but the dealer is pricey, you can then go on line and find it at a better price, but at least you will know exactly which helmet you want.

·
Registered
202 Posts
Great points, but I'll also add that sizes can vary quite a bit even between helmet models from the same manufacturer.

·
Registered
215 Posts
Remember it's hard to drink beer from a can with a full face helmet.
That seems to be a concern on this forum,,, lol,, not really

Would you want your surgeon having a beer before he works on you?? Then keep it off the trail.

·
Registered
681 Posts
Remember it's hard to drink beer from a can with a full face helmet.
That seems to be a concern on this forum,,, lol,, not really

Would you want your surgeon having a beer before he works on you?? Then keep it off the trail.
Where did that come from? Ha, ha

·
Registered
44 Posts