Yamaha YXZ Forums banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
1,308 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Motor vehicle Vehicle All-terrain vehicle Car Automotive tire

I am not a "Pro Racer" just a weekend rider/off road enthusiast.

Initial thoughts:

I spent a couple hours messing around on the YXZ.
I have 13 acres with some rolling hills and 96in trail. Only big enough for 3rd gear.

It's fast and really freaking fun!

The motor and manual shifting is addicting and really a blast. The layout feels awesome (I am 6ft). Good room and the seats feel great.

I have 20 years of riding experience from high performance quads and dirtbikes. I never had a SxS only ridden friends RZRs and Rhinos. I did not like them much for off roading. Kinda boring vs. riding a fast dirtbike or banshee, yfz 450, etc.

I would say the comparison is the YXZ is like a YFZ450 and the RZR/Maverick is like a KFX700 or Polaris Scrambler. The YXZ motor, trans, and layout just feels fast, sharp, and really fun to blast on. You feel connected.

The motor has some good torque and a nice top end rip. Characteristic of an inline 3. Notice this motor setup becoming popular in sport snowmobiles and motorcycles. Ripping 2nd and 3rd gear induce rear tire spin and some fun drifting and oversteer!! Something a CVT machine doesn't do well in my honest opinion.

Initial thoughts: Good for trail, play riding, dunes, track, ripping and tearing, shooting hills.

Not great for rock crawling and deep mud. I think the clutch and 1st gear would make this a hassle. This machine want to move and move fast. The recluse clutch option would be a must have. First gear is defiantly not a creeper gear. Just my initial feeling.

·
Registered
1,308 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Hatfield McCoy is next on the list to do with the YXZ next week. I seriously cant wait. It's like a 6 year old going to Disney world!

·
Registered
215 Posts