Yamaha YXZ Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello Everybody a newbie here and first post I have a question about sales tax in PA? Living in Colorado now and I'm back in Michigan doing some

business for a few days I've been checking around for prices on a new 2017 YXZ 1000R SS SE. Well a course with living in Colorado the people aren't the only

thing HIGH in Colorado! YXZ Prices! Pun intended! Best price I have found happens to be in state of PA! But the dealers I talk to there want to charge me

sales tax for a out of state purchase. Doesn't seem to be anyway around it! My sales tax where I live in Colorado is 2.9! PA is 6%. So that difference will pay

for my trip to the Keystoner state. Can anyone tell me if they are BSing me and can someone help a buddy out with some info? Thanks in advance!:eek:nthego:

·
Registered
867 Posts
I could be wrong but if you are buying from out of state there shouldn't be any sales tax until you bring it home then you have to pay your sales tax in the state that you live...

·
Registered
264 Posts
It all depends. Some states/counties require that local business charge taxes for any products sold in their state/county. The local govt does not want to lose any tax revenue, hence the requirement. I bought a teardrop a few years back and the place I bought it was charging the Wisconsin sales tax at 4.9%, when I brought it back to Texas, I had to make up the rest of the Tax that Texas charges for a total of 8.25% tax.

When I bought my YXZ, the dealer here in WA was going to charge the local rate of 9.2% where my residence is still in Texas and tax is only 8.25%. I ended up buying my YXZ in Oregon where there is no tax but if I ever title it in my home state, I will have to pay the local taxes.

·
Registered
59 Posts