Yamaha YXZ Forums banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
98 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm not a mechanic, but have done a lot of my own work on machines. I would value your constructive thoughts about:
The manual says to drain oil tank and engine crankcase. It says to remove the engine oil cap and the oil tank cap (dipstick). To refill, it says to add oil to the tank, but makes no mention of adding any to the engine itself. So, I did what was instructed...added oil to the oil tank...started it up....made a clattering noise for a couple seconds and then was sounding fine. Then I checked and added more oil to the tank.
To me, after doing this, it seemed I started the engine dry, until the oil could be pumped from the tank. Seems to me, after doing this once....I will no longer drain the engine and leave that 1/2 quart in there..so I'm not starting it dry. Otherwise I could drain the engine and toss a 1/2 quart into the engine itself along with filling the oil tank. Am I over paranoid of this dry sump system? Thoughts?

Another thing, not claiming to be an expert on oils....since the clutch is in the transmission housing and separate from the engine...why does the manual NOT say to use a wet clutch approved motorcycle oil? It just says to use motor oil....??? Shouldn't you use mc oil in the tranny for sure...and you could use any high performance oil in the engine..even if it's not wet clutch approved?

Ladies and gentlemen...pass along some wisdom. Thanks in advance!

By the way...I plan to use yamalube 15-50 in both..full synthetic. Though I ran rotella in my rhino for years!

·
Registered
2,820 Posts
I'm glad you asked this question, Yamajohn...I experienced the same thing. WHY do they tell you to remove the engine oil cap for no reason at all? Typo? Next time I am putting that half quart into the motor itself!

·
Registered
1,771 Posts