Yamaha YXZ Forums banner

1 - 20 of 68 Posts

·
Registered
252 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
After looking at these pictures of the YXZ stock cage crushed like an aluminum can I might seriously look into an aftermarket replacement, to think this damage was done rolling over in sand is astonishing to me, or maybe it flew off that dune and flipped end over end. Photo from YXZ addicts on FB.

·
Registered
2,820 Posts
Wow. That's not very comforting at all. I like Marc's cage a lot....I may be giving Berserk a call here sometime soon.

·
Premium Member
3,622 Posts
It was an end over end wreck and from what I gathered the top is what hit first, even a well built aftermarket cage might have bent. Both occupants walked away so I'd have a hard time saying it failed. But, there are certainly stronger options available.

·
Registered
1,014 Posts
image.jpeg Agreed, i have been duning at glamis dunes since 1984 and have never rolled anything because driving careless gets you in trouble. Drove a rzr hard there for over 5000 miles, before that quads, buggies, jeep, dirt bikes , 3 wheel atc and now the yxz. Slow down if you don't know where your going or follow someone who does. Just my 5 cents! LIVE TO RIDE, RIDE TO LIVE!

·
Registered
494 Posts
An after market roll bar done correctly in combination with a properly installed harness is your best chance of walking away. Everyone knows that. That being said the factory roll bar is better than nothing. Try that same flip on a quad and see how you feel afterwards.

·
Registered
121 Posts
We always run around an area and learn it before the pedal to the metal happens. Expecially the dunes or after any rain in the desert there could be a new wash out. Glad they walked away.

·
Registered
846 Posts
Cage Upgrade